What’s So Special About New Years?

As the countdown to New Years begins, I am stuck with this one thought: why do people make such a big deal out of New Years?

There are 365 days in a year, and sometimes you are given an extra day. With all of these days, why wait until the last day of the year to change? What are you doing with the other 364 days in the year? It is as if people write all of their problems down and then vow to fix them at the end of the year. Majority of the time, I do not see anything done to change.

I understand that change can be scary to some people, but do not use New Years as an excuse to change. If the problems you have in your life are that bad, then you should fix it as soon as possible.

The New Year symbolizes a new beginning, yes; however, everyday is a fresh start. If you want to change, change by the day and not by the year. There is one thing that I do believe the New Years is good for: reflection.

Reflecting on your year:

We may not realize it, but we do change everyday. With each experience, we change the way we think. The change is so small that we do not realize it, but the changes accumulates over time. This is why it is good to reflect on your life. New Years allows you to reflect on all that has happened over that year. When you take time out to reflect, you will be surprised by how much you have changed.

I learned to reflect when I traveled to India. With no technology, I was forced to sit with myself and think of how I have changed. However, that is a story for another time.

When I began reflecting, I started learning more about myself. I started learning about what has truly changed and what has not.

To sum my thoughts up, I believe that setting a goal for yourself is good; however, do not wait for the New Years to chase them. Every second is valuable, and you should not take time for granted. Time is not promised, and you cannot get back time that is wasted.

At the end of your life, are you going to say to yourself that this was the life you wanted to live, or that you could have done so much more?

Happy New Year everyone!

ball-drop

One thought on “What’s So Special About New Years?

  1. Hear hear.

    I believe each second is the beginning of a new year. New Year’s Day is an arbitrary date set by us that represents the Earth making a full circle around the sun. It could literally be set at any point in time and mean the same thing.

Leave a Reply

