Everyone Needs Inspiration: What’s Yours?

Believe it or not, everyone is influenced by an outside presence. It starts as early as birth. As an infant, one must rely on their parents/guardian until they can grow to nurture themselves; however, it does not stop there.

We will eventually meet someone that inspires change in us. Hopefully, it is change towards greatness. That one person can be who you devote your life to. For me, I met my inspiration thousands of miles from home.

On my journey through India, I came across a man named Cyril-ji. From the moment I shook his hand, I knew that he would change my life. As we sat in his office, he began to speak about his life. Cyril-ji works with the Shri Bhuvneshwari Mahila Ashram (SBMA), which helps families in Uttarakhand Himalaya. But his story does not start there.

Cyril-ji believed that in order for him to become successful, he would have to attend school –in America. Cyril-ji packed up his bags and traveled to the United States. As he left his family behind, he kept saying to himself that it is for a better future. Cyril-ji remained in the United States for 12 years.

This taught me so much about dedication, sacrifices and devotion. Often, I complain about having to give up an hour of playing games to study for an exam. I complain about being 7 hours away from my family. Cyril was thousands of miles away from his family. He sacrificed 12 years away from his home because he knew it would make him a better person.

Cyril said that he did it for his family. He knew that everything will pay off in the long run. Eventually, Cyril went back to India and his family and vowed to never again travel west.

Cyril taught me that when you are doubting your actions, think about the payoff and not the sacrifices you have to take. It takes true strength and dedication to leave your family for 12 years; for that, Cyril has become my inspiration, my role model, my hero.

So remember, when you feel like giving up, ask yourself why you are doing it in the first place. Never give up. As Dorothy from Finding Nemo, “just keep swimming.”

One thought on “Everyone Needs Inspiration: What’s Yours?

Leave a Reply

