The Wandering Mind of Oxford

As I spend these last few weeks in Oxford, I am wondering what on earth can I do to make them memorable. Just a second after that, I picked up my phone to check my Facebook, but I couldn’t connect to the internet. Today, a power outage struck the streets of Oxford, taking WiFi along with it. Without WiFi, nobody knew what to do. People were too busy worrying about social media than actually finding something productive to do. I was one of those people complaining about not having WiFi. That was when it hit me, the child that I used to know is no longer who I am.

Before the age of Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, I was just a boy who could not wait to run around outside and play with my friends. Every weekend, I would spend day and night outside at the park. There was nothing more that I wanted to do but run around and be active; however, that time as changed. But why?

It has dawned to me that technology may be collectively helping society, but not individually.  Instead of going outside to interact with actual people, I hide behind my phone and talk to my “friends.” Friends being emphasized because technology and social media has destroyed the true meaning of friendship. When I do go out with friends, we are all constantly checking our phones instead of fully interacting with one another. Now, it is socially acceptable to talk to friends only through means of social media and refer to them as friends.

Instead of actually living out our experiences, we tweet about it. It is as if our phones are living our lives and not us. When something good happens, the first thing you grab is your phone to take a photo or post a Facebook update. Our technology has withdrawn us from our lives. We are nothing more than breathing robots.

Being at Oxford for 3 weeks now, I have seen many great things; however, I have not fully soaked myself in it. Instead, I am quick to grab my phone to snap a photo. I am now starting to realize that the technology that is supposed to make my life easier, is actually taking away from experiencing life itself.

What happened to the kid that I used to be? The one who was eager to wake up in the morning to run to school, or to hang out with my buddies? You can say that society has stripped that kid of his identity. Before cellphones and social media, we had to communicate with each other in person. Now, I can talk to people around the world behind a computer. Technology is globalizing the world, but is it making closer to one another? I think not.

People think that humanity will be controlled by computer chips in the future. That is not true at all. It is already happening. We do not need a computer chip in our head to be controlled. Facebook, Twitter, and every other social media already has clamped their jaws on us.

The kid in me is trying to crawl out of me, but society has buried him deep inside. All of this is being written behind a computer. Wouldn’t this be more exciting if I had nailed this to the church doors like Martin Luther? Or maybe gather a crowd together as a spill my guts? Nope, I have it much easier. I can sit in a dark room, behind my laptop and share it with people around the world without saying a word.

Eventually, we will forget what our voices sound like. We will lose our voices to the conformity to society.

 

Leave a Reply

