Never Again

Have you ever gone to a new place or tried a new experience and thought to yourself, “I’m never doing that again!” 

My biggest question is are you really living life if you don’t come across “never again” moments on a frequent basis? I think that I come across a never again moment at least one a month because I am always eager to try something new and exciting. However, I think my biggest “never again” moment was when I traveled to India.

Before traveling to India, we were advised to get a prescription for malaria medication. I heard about one pill that was the most effective but the side effect was vivid nightmares. My advisers told me not to get these pills because of how bad their nightmares were while taking them. I think this is what persuaded me to actually choose these pills; I was looking forward to the nightmare just to see how crazy they would be. Boy, I was in for a treat.

The first week I was in India, I did not have any nightmares. Gradually, I began having dreams that seemed so real. Some of my dreams were actually coming true, like me kissing one of the girls who was traveling with me. I felt like these pills were giving me the ability to see into the future (every teenagers dream) so I felt great. It wasn’t until I had one dream that changed it all and made me stop taking the pills for the rest of my trip.

I remember this night so vividly. The mountain mist created a soothing breeze just as I was going to bed. As soon as I fell asleep, it happened. It started as me in the passenger seat of the taxi that just drove us eight hours into the Himalayan mountains. All of a sudden, another car swerved in front of us and everything went black. As I awoke in my nightmare, I was ejected through the windshield and down the mountain. When I woke up, I clutched my chest and gasped for air. I was drenched in sweat and my heart was pounding. After that day, I stopped saying that I could look into the future.

From that day forward, I never took those malaria pills again.

2 thoughts on “Never Again

Leave a Reply

