Daily Post: The Clock

It’s never too late to start one of the 365 blog post challenges, is it? Well, I decided to board the train late. Here is today’s prompt:

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. I knew I was late! Today out of all days I chose to oversleep my alarm. Any other day I wouldn’t have cared, but today was the day. It was the day that I had my interview with Google. I have been waiting for this opportunity my entire like, and by some stroke of luck I got my wish last month.

I had no time to even think why my wife did not wake me up. I told her that Wednesday was my interview. How could she have just left to work without even waking me up? I quickly grabbed the first suit I could find and bounced around the house while dressing myself. Lastly, I dug into my drawer but something was wrong; they weren’t there, my lucky socks! Heart pounding, I ripped the drawer out of the dresser and scattered all of the contents on my bed. They were not there. I remembered wearing them last week, so I quickly ran to the hamper and tossed everything to the ground. There they were, dirty and smelly. I asked her to clean these for me. I had no time to wash them, so I grabbed the Febreze and sprayed them down.

I was halfway out the door with one shoe in hand and one show on my foot. I had a brush in my mouth and my briefcase in the other hand. I opened the car door with great force, nearly shattering the driver-side window. I tossed everything to the passenger seat and ignited the engine. Suddenly, my phone rang. It was a voicemail from my wife.

Hi sweetie, I know you have a busy day tomorrow with your Google interview so I decided to let you sleep in today. Remember, today is the parent-teacher conferences so I will be home a little later tonight. I will clean your lucky socks tonight only if you promise to make dinner. And please do not burn the house down. I love you, bye.

I looked at my phone and laughed. Today was Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

