The Preservation of Self-Love

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

This is the type of question that I hate having to answer during interviews. Someway or somehow, this is one of the questions that is always being brought up; but the problem is, how do you answer it? Most of us do not go around tooting our own horn, unless of course you are Donald Trump. I have always found this question difficult to answer because normally I am not thinking about one specific thing that I love.

After being forced to answer this question multiple times in interviews, I discovered that my biggest strength is my ability to be independent. Being independent can mean a lot of things, but to me it means to be able to figure things out on your own and not have to rely on other people for answers. I grew up in a household where it was the norm to figure things out on your own.

My dad never went to college, but he taught himself everything he knows about technology. Because of his dedication, he was able to land himself a job working as a computer technician because he dedicated himself to teaching himself everything that he didn’t know. I instilled that trait upon my own life and started diving into writing. I had never taken a creative writing class until this semester, so everything that I learned was strictly through personal research. But this doesn’t only apply to writing. Anything that I was curious about, I would search it up on Google. We live in an age where information is readily available in a drop of a dime.

I feel like your biggest accomplishments are when you succeed without the help of others. I am not saying that it isn’t good to seek help when needed, but I am saying it feels a thousand times better when you discover things on your own.

2 thoughts on “The Preservation of Self-Love

Leave a Reply

