Time Needs to Slow Down

If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

As I sit here and write this blog post, I reflect on how two and a half years of college has already sped past me. It felt like it was yesterday when I was taking my first visit to St. Bonaventure. I remember being a naive freshman as if it was yesterday. Now, almost three years later, I am 3 semesters left from being removed from college and thrown into the real world.

When I was a freshman, all of my senior friends told me to cherish my time here because it would fly by. I didn’t bother to listen to them. I have four years here, that’s a lifetime – I thought. Boy was I wrong. These two and a half years have past quicker than anything else in my life. Now, I am sitting behind my computer screen contemplating where has the time gone. It is shocking just how quickly life can zoom right past you.

The worst part about time is that you do not feel it moving until after it’s gone. Living the daily life of a college student feels so long, but then when you look back it seems as if everything was moving so quickly. I never understood why time worked like that. And I feel there are going to be more moments like this to come. I can only imagine how time will fly once I start my own family.

So please, to whatever being controls time, it would be greatly appreciated if you could just ease off the gas for the next year and a half so I can make as many memories as possible with the place that I call my second home and the people who I consider my second family.

Leave a Reply

