Divide and Conquer

With graduation creeping up on me, I am forced to start thinking about what I want to do when I graduate. This whole idea of a kid having to make decisions that may impact the rest of his life is very scary. I have learned as a person that my feelings change as I grow older. Some dreams and aspirations that I have had as a child, I no longer have. So maybe right now I want to become a teacher, but a year from now I might want to choose a different career path. Now I am at a divide where I want to do what I love, but I need to do something quick because bills will soon start to pile up.

It is my dream to start my own non-profit organization that will help raise money and materials for poorer schools overseas. However, this job probably won’t be waiting for me at the door as soon as I graduate. This may be something that I would have to pursue at a later time in my life. So now, I am battling between chasing the things that I dream and coming to grip with reality that maybe now is not the time to chase them.

I always see people who make a lot of money, but hate their jobs. I do not want to be one of those people. But also, I do not want to be one of those people where I am struggling to make ends meet because I made the wrong decision when I was young. So for me, the divide is figuring out when to actually pursue my dreams. I always believe that there is a time and place for everything, and maybe this isn’t the time to pursue my dream job.

One thing that I have learned during my 21 years on this planet is to make sure you live life without regret and never think about what-if questions. What-if questions used to drive me insane, often keeping me awake at night. Now, I just go with the flow and see where fate takes me. I control my own fate, yes, but sometimes you just have to make decisions without thinking too much into it. With a year and a half to go, I still have many questions that may not be answered but that is totally fine. As long as I am guiding my own hand down the path that I choose, I will be content with life.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/divide/

2 thoughts on “Divide and Conquer

  1. I really like this post. Your plans for the future are very well founded. I read a book a few years before I became a teacher that really informed me about the jobs I might be happiest doing. It was called “Do What You Love, The Money Will Follow.” You might check if it’s still in print and give it a read. It really changed my life for the better and ultimately led me into teaching. Not that it would lead everyone there. Have a great one.

Leave a Reply

