Crown of Palaces

486451_4427770137270_1333183835_n

We often take the little things for granted. I know I surely did when I visited one of the seven wonders of the world. Now that I look back at the opportunities that I had, I realize that I did not fully capitalize on the opportunities that I both did not take and did take.

The main reason why I took this opportunity was because the year before, I let go of an opportunity that would have allowed me to travel anywhere that I wanted to. The reason being was that I was scared to travel out of the country. I wasn’t going to miss out on another opportunity that could change my life, and it did. For sure, I was terrified of the idea of traveling to India. I mean it is on the other side of the world. I do not regret my decision one bit, but what I do regret is not taking everything that I could have from my journey.

I wish that I had left all of my electronics back home so that I can fully indulge in the Indian culture. I learned a lot from my trip, but I could have learned a lot more. I think that I was more caught up in taking pictures during my trip than actually enjoying my journey with my own eyes. I do have many memories from my trip, but I could have had a lot more if I had put my camera down and enjoy the ride. Even something as little as the story behind the Taj Mahal, I didn’t truly appreciate. It is now that I am older that I appreciate all of the fine details of life.

I made a promise to myself that I will return to India one day, and I am going to keep that promise. Whether it is a year from now or ten years from now, I will return because I still have so much to learn from such an amazing culture. India changed me for the better, but I can only imagine the growth I would have made if I fully submerged myself in that culture without anything hindering my sight. Out of all of my trips so far, India has been my best one and a trip that I recommend to everyone. That place is truly life-changing.

Leave a Reply

