Longing: The Travel Bug

Something strange happened during my sophomore year in high school. At first, I didn’t know what I was feeling. I caught something, but didn’t know what it was. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. After returning home, I realized what it was: I caught the travel bug.

During my sophomore year in high school, I was blessed with the opportunity to travel to India for three weeks. I have taken many road trips around the States, but traveling to India was my first experience out of the country. Little did I know, I wouldn’t stop there. My trip to India was the best time of my life, but something happened when I returned home. It was as if I crashed into a wall of depression when I landed. My happiness was drained from my body, and for the first time ever I did not want to return home; literally, I was depressed to be home. This depression took over my body for weeks until I talked to someone about it. It was then that I realized I grew a longing for traveling.

My travels didn’t stop there. During my sophomore year in college, I studied abroad in Oxford, England. The culture in England was something magical. It was as if everything there was handled with care, unlike back home. Again, it was one of the best experiences of my life. During that trip, I was able to travel to Wales for a few days. That trip disconnected me from my phone and laptop and actually gave me time to take in what I was seeing. But again, when I returned home, it was not the same. I did not want to be here again.

Every time that I travel, my longing for traveling grows stronger. Now, a year and a half away from graduation, I am longing for a career where I can travel the world and change lives in the process. I thought I would never say this about any bug, but I am glad that I caught the travel bug because it has shaped me into the person that I am today. It’s funny that my best experiences in life aren’t from my homeland.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/longing/

2 thoughts on “Longing: The Travel Bug

  1. I probably give this advice to anyone I know who is about to graduate from university: take a year and travel to Asia! There are so many great places to see on this side of the world. and so many chances to work – especially to teach English. Getting a contract is easy, most are the same across all the different tutoring schools, and traveling to different countries is easy and inexpensive!

Leave a Reply

