All Things Come To An End

10514586_10204360225190616_6791305517261636144_n
This was captured during my trip in Oxford, England.

It is inevitable to escape the grasps of time. No matter how much you want it to speed up or slow down, you will never be able to control time. I had to learn this the hard way, watching my college years pass me by as quickly as they began. No matter if it’s good or bad, all things come to an end.

I have witnessed a fourth of my life pass me by without any halt. Many things have come and gone during that time, both good and bad. When things are bad, it feels like time is moving by so slow. When things are good, I don’t even feel how quick time is passing by. However, good or bad, time will eventually bring these things to an end. That is a the beautiful cycle of life, nothing is permanent. This ideology has changed me in a way that I am more appreciative for the things that happen in my life, good and bad, because I know nothing lasts forever.

When I am at my highs, I try to relish the moment as much as possible and create as many memories as I can. I did myself a disservice by not fully enjoying the first two years of college, allowing them to pass me by. I will only be an undergraduate once, and now I have a year and a half left to drain this experience of everything it has to offer. I have learned from my past to take advantage of the opportunities I have because some of them only come once in a lifetime. In high school, I really didn’t appreciate things like I do now because I always assumed that I will be able to do it at a later time. Little did I know, that was not the case. Many opportunities passed me by in high school because I was too naive and believed that time bends for me. Boy was I wrong. Even opportunities come to an end, even if you take them or not.

As much as I would like to skip past the lows in my life, time does not work like that. However, I have learned to accept my lows in life and learn from them. I am the person that I am today because I chose to learn from my mistakes and my non-ideal situations. I was told in high school that nothing is forever, all things come to an end. So even though I am going to a low point in my life, it will not last forever. Eventually, I will overcome whatever it is that I am facing and life will get better. And each and every time, this was the case. Things always turned around for the good, but not without me learning from them first.

I wish life did not have to work like this and I had a pause button. However, whether I like it or not, time will keep going and taking everything with it. Life itself does not last forever, but that is why life is so beautiful. You have to live the life you want and live it to the fullest because you only have one and it does not last forever. Instead of sulking on how short life is, truly take advantage of it and make the best of it.

One thought on “All Things Come To An End

Leave a Reply

