Roots

I am the roots beneath the earth,

rarely noticed but always there to support.

I stay in my place, hidden beneath your dirt.

 

I am the branches that twist and contort,

ready to bend to your every will.

I stay flexible, willing to snap for your comfort.

 

I am the wind chilling the spines of the Nashville,

filling the air with lustrous sound.

I stay deaf -your song is what my ears fill.

 

I am the rose that grows from the concrete,

overcoming the adversity of your love.

I stay numb to your touch so bittersweet.

 

You are thorns, the foundation of my crown.

Pricking my soul, I bleed onto your feet.

You stay blind to the pain I suffer deep down.

 

I wait for the buzzing of the chainsaws,

the lumberjack puts me out of my misery.

And just like the birds who fly south,

you vanish into thin air.

One thought on “Roots

Leave a Reply

